The bridge was built in 1268 following Mastro Bentivegna’s drawings. Unique for its shape along Chienti river, it has five arches supported by strong piers, with quadrangular flag-tower, with Guelph crenellation and pointed arch door with double brickwork arched lintel. Its name “Ponte del Diavolo” (Devil’s bridge) derives from a legend common to many European bridges. Legend has it that builder and Devil made an agreement for the construction of the bridge (very important for the town of Tolentino) in return for the soul of the first passer-by. They say that when San Nicola knew of this accord, he took the place of the builder and sneered at the Devil by throwing a whole cheese along the bridge so that the first passer-by was a dog. A modern memorial tablet has been fixed in the tower wall, in place of the original one, for which the bottom of a Roman sarcophagus had been used. In 1524, after an Administration’s decision, a sacred shrine, with a fresco representing the Vergine con il Bambino, was built on the corner of the central pier and it is still visible. In June 30th,1944, during the Second World War, German troops in retreat blew the central part of the bridge up, and only later it was restored to its original shape. In the below area a naturalistic oasis has been made.